Our School Houses

We have four Houses at Te Mata School - Rongokako (Green), Tukituki (Blue), Takitimu (Orange) and Kahungunu (Yellow).

All children are part of a house team and are placed into one of the four houses on enrolment.  Families are kept together in houses. 

Each house has house captains who are Year 6 students who lead the kids at whole school events.  Throughout the year children are rewarded with house points in class, around school and at a variety of school events eg: Swimming Sports, Cross Country, House Competitions etc

House points and progress is announced in weekly assemblies.  At the end of the year, the top house is awarded the House Shield.

During these events and celebrations you will hear their House Chants, cheering on their houses...or celebrating their latest win!

  Our Houses are named after different parts of our school Pepeha/Introduction.

Ko Te Mata Rongokako te maunga hei whakamarumaru mō tātau

(Te Mata Rongokako is the mountain that protects us)

Ko Tukituki te awa hei whakaoranga mō tātau

(Tukituki is the river that revives us)

Ko Takitimu te waka i hoea ai e Tamatea Arikinui

(Takitimu was the boat that Tamatea Arikinui rowed)

Ko Ngāti Kahungunu te mana whenua ka mihi mātou ki a rātou. 

(Ngāti Kahungunu are the people of this land and we acknowledge them)

The designs for each house was created with the creativity of our 2022 Student Leaders and CWSA Arts group who worked with our local artist and Māori tutor Chantze Rohe.  Each house image helps to tell  the stories/pūrakau of the place, person or waka as part of our NZ local curriculum.